Local December 28, 2011 | 6:00 am

New judges to be sworn in today

Santo Domingo.- The National Magistrates Council (CNM) will swear in the new judges who will serve on the Supreme Court of Justice (SCJ), the Constitutional Court (TC) and Superior Electoral Court (TSE) on Wednesday morning. The latter two entities still do not have a base of operations.

The swearing-in ceremony is planned for 11 a.m. at the National Palace.

The choice of judges has been controversial, meeting with criticism as well as with praise, and has provoked a series of calls for the Dominican justice system to be strengthened.

The new members of the High Courts will be sworn in despite the resignation of Jorge Subero Isa, who was ratified as a SCJ judge but not as its president, and Alfredo González Pérez and Emilio Narciso Conde Rubio, alternate judges of the TSE.