Local July 10, 2024 | 8:18 am

Ministry of Agriculture bans host crops to combat pests in key regions

Mao, Valverde.- The Plant Health Department of the Ministry of Agriculture has announced a ban on crops that host whitefly and thrips in Santiago, Dajabón, Valverde, and Montecristi.

This ban aims to reduce pest incidence and prevent infestations in other crops within these regions. Detailed in Resolution RS-MARD-2024-9, signed by Minister Limber Cruz, the ban is effective from July 1 to September 30, 2024, for the North and Northwest zones.

The prohibited crops include tomatoes, eggplants, melons, watermelons, cucumbers, okra, chili peppers, all types of pumpkins, and cotton. Additionally, tobacco planting is banned nationwide during the same period, except in the province of Azua.

Regional director Julio Cesar Estevez shared this resolution with all producer associations and independent farmers nationwide, who committed to comply with the new measures.

This initiative aims to maintain the phytosanitary conditions of the fields and implement biological controls across the country, ensuring food security in the Dominican Republic and protecting exports. The resolution carries legal consequences for non-compliance.

As alternatives, the Department of Plant Health, led by engineer Rosa Lazala, recommends planting corn, sorghum, cassava, plantains, bananas, rulo, cabbage, onions, celery, bagana, cundeamor, papaya, green beans, and musú, along with other crops that do not host whiteflies or thrips.

The ban for the South, Central, and Southwestern areas extends until November 30, with authorities urging continued adherence to these provisions.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments