Tourism July 9, 2024 | 4:04 pm

Environment, Mitur, and Culture form Ecotourism Committee

Santo Domingo.- The “Interinstitutional Ecotourism Committee” has been established by the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources (MMARN), Ministry of Tourism (Mitur), and Ministry of Culture (MINC) to continue implementing the “National Ecotourism Strategy (ENEC-2030).”

Key points discussed included the challenges of achieving competitive ecotourism without harming natural resources, strengthening inter-institutional cooperation, promoting local enterprises, and improving sector sustainability.

Key attendees were Patricia Mejía (Vice Minister of Tourism), Milagros De Camps (Vice Minister of Climate Change), Yamal Michelén (Vice Minister of Culture), Federico Franco (Vice Minister of Protected Areas and Biodiversity), and others.

Milagros De Camps emphasized the commitment to conserving natural resources and promoting climate resilience, while Patricia Mejía stressed the need for collaboration among institutions. Yamal Michelén highlighted the importance of sustainable tourism, integrating both natural and cultural heritage.

Consultant Víctor Gómez Valenzuela underscored the importance of involving all stakeholders to sustain tourism growth and preserve natural resources.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments