Local April 19, 2016 | 8:15 am

National Counterterrorism Committee members take the oath

Santo Domingo.- President Danilo Medina on Monday administeredthe oath to the members of the National Counterterrorism Committee, as anti-terrorismLaw 267-08 stipulates, with Gen. Rafael A. Nuñez as its executive director.

The commission is formed by the heads of the Defense, Interiorand Police, Public Health and Justice ministries; of the National Police, theNational Investigations Dept. (DNI), the Minister of and the Director ofImmigration.

Also the heads of the National Emergency Commission, CivilDefense; the Foreign Affair and Industry and Commerce ministries, Customs, Port Authority and the DominicanCivil Aviation Institute

After the ceremony, Presidency chief of staff Gustavo Montalvoheaded the Commission’s first meeting.

He said the President decided to activate the committee, notbecause there’s a threat, but to prosecute money laundering which could fund internationalterrorism, and following the recommendations of the Financial Action Task Force(FATF) against the practice.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments