Local July 28, 2016 | 1:53 pm

US pulls Dominican Republic off its tax transparency ‘black list’

Washington.- The United States on Thursday listed Ecuador,Nicaragua, Haiti and Belize among the countries that, in Washington’s view,fail in fiscal transparency, in the State Department’s annual evaluation ofnations that receive US financial aid .

This year Ecuador appears at the top among countries whichthe annual report criticizes over a lack of fiscal transparency, while pullingthe Dominican Republic off the same "black list" in which had figuredsince 2012.

The annual report released today, examines the fiscaltransparency level in 140 countries which receive US bilateral assistance, an evaluationwhich State has done since 2012.

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, DominicanRepublic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay,Peru, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay are the countries that comply with minimumfiscal transparency requirements, according to Washington.

In contrast, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Haiti and Belize appearamong the 57 countries that do not meet minimum fiscal transparency and,moreover, "aren’t making significant progress" to achieve it.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments