Local December 26, 2017 | 1:34 pm

Neurosurgeon wins National Prize for Medicine

José Silié Ruiz, Sergio Solís Taveras, José Joaquín Puello and Luis Scheker. Credit: elcaribe.com.do

Santo Domingo.- The Dominican Republic Academy of Sciences awarded the 2017 National Prize for Medicine to eminent neurosurgeon José Joaquín Puello.

Other medical professionals who received awards at the ceremony include gynecologist Pablo de la Mota, writer Miguel Ángel Valdez, and kidney specialist Fátima Amador.

Dr. Milagros Regalado was recognized for her historic contribution in the area of parasitology. Others receiving honors were Dr. Quilover de León and General Pedro Bisonó, Dominican Republic president for International Chaplains.

In his speech, prize founder and president Sergio Solís Taveras, highlighted the 21 years since the establishment of the prize, “conquering great obstacles, breaking barriers, accepting the challenge for creating a prize on this scale, and thanking the physicians, who have accompanied me and provided encouragement during this long journey.”

Comments are closed.