Local April 21, 2023 | 2:58 pm

The provinces on alert rise to seven

The alert level has been extended to seven provinces of the country due to increased cloudiness that will cause downpours, as reported by the Center for Operations and Emergencies (COE).

The provinces with a green alert are Puerto Plata, Santiago Rodríguez, Valverde, Dajabón, La Vega, Santiago, and Monte Cristi. This decision was made based on the meteorological bulletin of the National Meteorological Office (Onamet), which forecasts “more cloudy developments in the afternoon, with moderate to strong downpours at times, electrical storms, and gusts of wind, due to the effects of a trough at various levels of the troposphere and the cloud fields of the degenerate frontal system that brings humidity.”

The COE urged the public to follow the guidelines and directions of civil protection agencies and to avoid crossing rivers, streams, and ravines with high water volumes, as well as avoiding the use of spas in the provinces under alert.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments