Local May 23, 2024 | 1:54 pm

COE expands weather alerts to 27 provinces

Santo Domingo.- The Emergency Operations Center (COE) has increased the number of provinces under green alert to 16 due to downpours associated with a trough linked to a low-pressure system.

Provinces on yellow alert include Barahona, Pedernales, Independencia, Azua, San José de Ocoa, San Cristóbal, Peravia, Bahoruco, Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, and San Pedro de Macorís.

Provinces on green alert are La Romana, El Seibo, Sánchez Ramírez, Monte Plata, Duarte, Santiago Rodríguez, Santiago, Dajabón, La Altagracia, Hato Mayor, Samaná, La Vega, Monseñor Nouel, Montecristi, Puerto Plata, and Valverde.

The low-pressure system situated southwest of the country, along with a trough in the medium and high levels of the troposphere near eastern Cuba, will maintain conditions conducive to moderate to heavy downpours, occasional thunderstorms, and gusty winds, particularly over the south coast, the southwest region, and the Central Mountain Range.

onamet 558

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments