Economy August 29, 2017 | 3:02 pm

Buy car in DR

Gov. bans fishing in extensive zones of Samana Bay

Robert E. Copley, Francisco Domínguez, Rosa Margarita Bonetti, Francisco Núñez.

Santo Domingo.- The Environment Ministry on Tue. announced six fishing exclusion zones in Samaná Bay (northeast) , and signed two agreements to build capacity and conserve the natural resources.

Environment minister Francisco Domínguez said resolution 0025, establishes the exclusive zones El Manglar de la Jina; Boca del Río Yabón; San Lorenzo Bay / Punta Arena; Naranjo Arriba; Boca de Barracote / Arroyo La Ceja / Caño El Pinito and Boca del Río Yuna / Caño Colorado.

The zones were identified as areas of aggregation or breeding sites in coordination with the Dominican Fisheries and Aquaculture Council (CODOPESCA), while area fishermen agreed not to extract fish or shellfish to ensure the sustainability of their livelihoods.

One of the agreements, with The Nature Conservancy, aims to protect the natural resources, with plans to facilitate conservation projects; stronger technical capacities; the consolidation of strategies to adapt to climate change, reduce risks from natural phenomena, conduct scientific studies, develop strategies for sustainable fishing, and water security by protecting water-producing ecosystems.

The document was signed by Domínguez; Nature Conservancy Greater Antilles Program director Francisco Núñez, and witnessed by TNC member Rosa Margarita Bonetti de Santana and US Embassy chargé d’affaires Robert E. Copley.

The second agreement is a MOU to co-manage Manglares del Bajo Yuna National Park, signed by Domínguez, Núñez, Bonetti, and Samana Bay Biological Studies Center– CEBSE director Rosa Lamelas.

“Bajo Yuna is an extensive subtropical coastal wetland, located in the bay of Samaná with estuary characteristics, predominance of mangroves and many water courses. Meanwhile, the Lower Yuna Manglares National Park was incorporated as a national park into the National System of Protected Areas (SINAP) through Law 202-04 Sectoral of Protected Areas and, on February 2, 2013, was designated as the third Wetland of International Importance of the Dominican Republic and inscribed in the Ramsar list,” the Resolution says, adding that its 110 km2 surface is closely linked to Samana Bay, home to 30% of the country’s fishermen.

Comments are closed.