Local February 6, 2014 | 7:26 am

Dominican Republic leader takes control of the ruling party

Santo Domingo.-The Central Committee of Dominican Republic’s ruling party (PLD) Wednesday night chose eight new members for its Political Committee, seven of whom are collaborators of president Danilo Medina.

Of the new members Simón Lizardo drew the most votes with 386; followed by Miriam Cabral, 382, Radhames Jimenez, 363; Juan de los Santos, 365; Ruben Jimenez Bichara, 353; Lucía Medina, 329; Carlos Pared Pérez, 310 and Gonzalo Castillo, 296 votes.

Of the new members, only Radhamés Jiménez is a collaborator of former president Leonel Fernandez, who as president of the PLD swore in the Political Committee’s new members. He urged them to work to maintain the organization’s unity.

Close to Medina

Simón Lizardo is Finance minister, Miriam Cabral is a deputy for the National District, Radhamés Jiménez, former chief Prosecutor; Juan de los Santos, Mayor of Santo Domingo East; Ruben Jimenez Bichara, CEO of the State-owned Electric Utility (CDEEE); Lucía Medina, is the President’s sister and deputy for San Juan and Carlos Pared is a special Assistant to the President.

The PLD’s Political Committee went from 27 to 35 members with the right to vote.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments