World April 24, 2023 | 8:00 am

Director of Migration reveals in the Dominican Republic there are five of the 39 Haitians with entry impediment

After reviewing the list of 39 Haitians sanctioned by the governments of Canada and the United States and prohibited from entering the Dominican Republic by President Luis Abinader, at least five have been found to be currently on Dominican soil, according to Venancio Alcántara, the director of Migration. The agency has initiated an investigation process to locate these individuals in order to comply with the presidential decision, which prohibits the entry of foreigners who pose a threat to the interests and institutions of the Republic.

Alcántara stated that four individuals had legal status in the country, one had their residence canceled in 2018, three left the country, and five entered the country, and their whereabouts are being investigated. The list of individuals includes Youri Latortue, Gracia Delva, Liszt Quitel, and others, who were prevented from entering Dominican territory due to their criminal records or perceived threat to national security and interests. The president’s decision was based on Article 128 of the Constitution, which empowers him to prohibit the entry of foreigners into the country when it is in the public interest.

The decision was made in compliance with the resolution adopted by the United Nations Security Council and follows the recent visit of the US Undersecretary of State, Wendy Sherman.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments