Tourism September 14, 2023 | 10:36 pm

Second edition of National Tourism Award recognizes innovation and excellence

Puerto Plata, DR.- The Senator Puerto Plata hotel was the setting for the second edition of the National Tourism Award which recognized achievement and excellence in Dominican tourism at a gala attended by the most representative actors of the Dominican Republic’s tourism sector.

The Lifetime Achievement category went to Julio César Llibre Salcedo for his valuable professional work of more than 30 years in tourism and his contributions to the development of the sector in the Dominican Republic.

Also recognized were Sabrina Brugal (founder of the program “Sabrina en fin de semana”) and Alejandro Castillo, both with more than three decades dedicated to the Dominican tourism sector.

The grand prize went to the VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort as Hotel of the Year, for its results, as well as the good management of the sanitary protocols, the excellent quality of its offer and the high standards of services.

Carlos Jiménez Ruiz, Development Director for the Caribbean area of the Lopesan Hotel Group, received the Manager of the Year award for his good performance in his functions and for having achieved growth, quality and innovation in tourism.

Other winners

The winners in the other categories were:, as Media of the Year, for highlighting each destination in the country and its contributions to the growth tourism; María Luis Bens, as Chef of the Year, for the quality and responsibility in the service and innovation in the preparation of each dish; and José Castillo García (Aquamanrd), as Influencer of the Year, for projecting with his image each Dominican tourist destination.

The Annual Fair of the Caribbean Tourism Exchange (BTC) won in the category Tourism Event of the Year, for contributing to the promotion, exchange and development of Dominican tourism; the Consorcio Energético Punta Cana-Macao (CEPM), in the category Social Welfare, for its great contributions to the development and growth of the communities and contributing to the strengthening of each demarcation.

Katmandu Park Punta Cana won the award in the Tourism Vision and Innovation category, for generating a unique experience and for its contribution to sustainable growth in tourism; and Homewood Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo, in the City Destination category, for having managed to maintain excellence and quality in its services.

The Instituto Nacional de Formación Técnico Profesional (Infotep) was awarded for its great contributions to the sector in training all hotel personnel nationwide; and the Ministry of Tourism (Mitur), for the great impact on the development of local tourism with its campaign “Turismo en Cada Rincón” (Tourism in Every Corner).

Journalist Luis Severino, president of the award, thanked the support received by the Senator Puerto Plata Hotel for being the official home of the second edition, as well as all the sponsors that joined this initiative.

Alejandro Castillo, general manager of the Senator Hotel, expressed his pride for hosting again this great event, which also serves to motivate people involved in tourism, especially after the difficulties faced in the last two years.

The National Tourism Award is organized by tour operator Turismo Travel and is sponsored by the Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort, Mitur, Instituto Dominicano de Aviación Civil (IDAC), Infotep, BanReservas, Cap Cana, Pemat Group, Master Red, Iberostar Costa Dorada, hotel Gran Ventana Beach Resort, David Atelier, Ron Barceló, Impera and Homewood Suites By Hilton Santo Domingo.

It is also sponsored by Puros Macerlino, Coradín & Asociados, Emotions by Hodelpa Puerto Plata, Sunscape Puerto Plata, BlueBay Villas Doradas, Viva Wyndham, Ron Punta Cana, Periódico El Día, Clúster Turístico del Destino Puerto Plata and Asociación de Hoteles, Restaurantes y Empresas Turísticas del Norte.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments