Local September 18, 2022 | 10:54 am

Provinces on red alert increase due to the proximity of Fiona

Santo Domingo, DR
As tropical storm Fiona approaches the Dominican territory, the number of provinces on red alert continues to grow; according to the most recent bulletin of the Emergency Operations Center (COE), there are already 13 provinces in this condition.

These are San Cristóbal, Greater Santo Domingo, San Pedro de Macorís, La Romana, La Altagracia, María Trinidad Sánchez, Espaillat, Puerto Plata, Samaná, Hato Mayor, El Seibo, Monte Plata and Duarte.

Meanwhile, the localities in yellow, an alert that is issued due to the upward trend of the development of the event and implies imminent risk situations and severe emergency situations, are Sanchez Ramirez, Azua, San Jose de Ocoa, Peravia, Monseñor Nouel, Hermanas Mirabal, Peravia, Barahona, La Vega, and Santiago.

On the other hand, San Juan, Monte Cristi, Elías Piña, Independencia, Santiago Rodríguez, Valverde, Pedernales, Bahoruco, and Dajabón are in green.

The COE also reported that according to the National Meteorological Office (Onamet), at 07:00 this Sunday morning, the center of Fiona was located near latitude 17.2 north and longitude 65.9 west, about 119 km southeast of Ponce, Puerto Rico, and about 300 kilometers southeast of Saona Island.

The storm continues to move toward the west/northwest at about 13 kph.

Regarding the forecast of accumulated rainfall, they stated that it could be between 100 and 250 millimeters and could be higher in isolated points, especially in higher elevations, up to about 400 millimeters.

Consequently, the COE banned the use of beaches and water sports on all coasts of the country, all recreational activities in the mountains, and the use of spas in rivers, pools, canals, and streams.

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments