Sports July 2, 2016 | 2:58 pm

Twelve teams take part in women’s Pan Am Cup in Santo Domingo

Santo Domingo.- The action at the XV Women’s Volleyball Pan American Cup begins on Saturday with twelve teams from NORCECA and South America battling for six spots to the different groups of next year’s FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix.

Defending champions United States and hosts and runner-ups Dominican Republic lead the package of teams as the competition gets underway on July 2 with six daily matches scheduled during the round-robin preliminary phase.

Pool A consists of Dominican Republic, Canada, Colombia, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Venezuela while Pool B is composed by United States, Argentina, Costa Rica, Cuba, Peru and Trinidad & Tobago.

United States and Cuba have won the Pan American Cup on four occasions while Brazil and Dominican Republic have won the gold medal three times. Dominican Republic has finished on the podium in all but one of the fourteen previous editions.

This is the second time Santo Domingo is hosting the premier women’s volleyball annual competition for the two confederations in the American continent. The previous one was in 2005.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments